INSTRUCTIONS FOR NAME CHANGE REQUESTS
Every person 22 years of age or older whose name appears on the Petition for Name Change must follow these instructions before the court can act on the petition.
Each person for whom a name change is sought must have been a resident for the county for at least one year.
Under Michigan law, every person 22 years of age or older who is requesting a name change must have 2 complete sets of fingerprints taken at a local agency. Those fingerprints will be used by the Michigan State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation to check criminal records. The Michigan State Police will send a report to the court regarding any criminal records.
If you have a criminal record, it will be presumed that you are seeking the name change with fraudulent intent. You must prove to the court that the name change is not being sought with fraudulent intent.
1. File Petition for Name Change (Form PC51) and pay filing fee.
2. Make 1 copy of the completed Petition for Name Change.
3. Go to your local police agency for the fingerprint cards and to have your
fingerprints taken. They will advise you of the appropriate fee.
4. After you have had your fingerprints taken, mail or deliver the copy of the Petition for Name Change, the fingerprint card, and the appropriate fee to the Michigan State Police, the fee must be made payable to the State of Michigan. Mail or deliver to:
Michigan State Police
Criminal Justice Information Center
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing, Michigan 48913
5. The Michigan State Police will review their criminal records and will forward the fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Once the Federal Bureau of Investigation has reviewed their records and reported the information to the Michigan State Police, the Michigan State Police will send a report to the court.
6. After a Petition for Name Change is filed, the matter will be scheduled for hearing.
Notice of hearing (Form PC562
) must be published.
8. Each person for whom a name change is sought must have been a resident of the county for at least one year.
9. A name change for a minor must be consented to by both parents or it must be shown that the noncustodial parent after being given notice of hearing has had the ability to visit, contact, or communicate with the minor but has regularly and substantially failed or neglected to do so for the past two years, and a support order has been entered, and the noncustodial parent has failed to substantially comply with the order for a period of two years or more before the filing of the Petition For Name Change; or a support order has not been entered and the noncustodial parent, having the ability to support or assist in supporting the child, has failed or neglected to provide regular and substantial support for two years or more before the filing of the Petition For Name Change.
10. The fees associated with a Name Change proceedings include the following:
a. $150.00 filing fee.
b. $26.00 to $45.00 for publication costs (depending on the newspaper).
c. $12.00 for fingerprinting at a local law enforcement agency (Cost may vary depending upon where fingerprinting is completed).
d. $54.00 to the Michigan State Police for the processing of the fingerprints through the State and Federal LEINS.
e. $12.00 at the day of the court hearing for a certified copy of the name change order.
11. Be sure to bring the following to the intake appointment:
a. Birth Certificate from the county or state, not the copy from the hospital.
b. Drivers License or Michigan ID.
c. For name changes for minors:
i. Both legally established parents' signatures are required on the Petition for Name Change, as well as the childs signature.
ii. If the parents are unmarried, we need the Friend of the Court case number for the child whose name is to be changed.